North Carolina Mayors’ statement on the murder of George Floyd

As mayors of cities in North Carolina, we have come together to express our abhorrence of the horrific murder of George Floyd, an act of unspeakable violence, cold inhumanity and racism.

The photographic evidence of this act speaks for itself. Mr. Floyd was suffocated to death by a Minneapolis police officer while pleading for his life as three other officers knelt or stood by and did nothing to help him, even as he called out, “I can’t breathe.”

As a society, we cannot tolerate this kind of police violence rooted in systemic racism. As mayors, we work closely with the police leadership in our cities, and we know that they also will not tolerate this kind of police violence and racism within their forces. Such acts not only harm innocent people, but they also deeply erode trust in our police forces, despite the good work of so many officers every day—officers who themselves abhor the racism and violence so evident in the death of George Floyd.

Our hearts go out to Mr. Floyd and his family. We support Mayor Jacob Frey of Minneapolis in his call for justice and accountability. We expect a full and fair trial of the police officers involved. We also support the rights of those who are peacefully protesting and honoring the memory of George Floyd and countless others that have been victims of systemic racism and police violence.

Let’s work together to ensure that protests remain peaceful and stay focused on building equitable and just cities for all in North Carolina. And we pledge to make every effort within our power to fight systemic racism within our police forces, cities and this nation.

Pictured at the top of the article is Highlands Mayor Pat Taylor speaking at a Memorial Day ceremony. Taylor is 1 of 100 mayors throughout the state of North Carolina to sign this statement.

Mayor Steve Schewel, Durham

Mayor Mary Ann Baldwin, Raleigh

Mayor Vi Lyles, Charlotte

Mayor Nancy Vaughan, Greensboro

Mayor Allen Joines, Winston-Salem

Mayor Mitch Colvin, Fayetteville

Mayor Esther Manheimer, Asheville

Mayor Bill Saffo, Wilmington

Mayor Ian Baltutis, Burlington

Mayor Pam Hemminger, Chapel Hill

Mayor Lydia Lavelle, Carrboro

Mayor Jenn Weaver, Hillsborough

Mayor Dontario Hardy, Kinston

Mayor TJ Cawley, Morrisville

Mayor Karen Alexander, Salisbury

Mayor Bill Dusch, Concord

Mayor Miles Atkins, Mooresville

Mayor Harold Weinbrecht, Cary

Mayor John Byrne, Fuquay-Varina

Mayor Costi Kutteh, Statesville

Mayor Bob Scott, Franklin

Mayor Chuck Allen, Goldsboro

Mayor Carlton Stevens, Wilson

Mayor Walker Reid, Gastonia

Mayor Hank Guess, Hickory

Mayor Jay Wagner, High Point

Mayor Sandy Roberson, Rocky Mount

Mayor Jay Donecker, Reidsville

Mayor Rennie Brantz, Boone

Mayor John Higdon, Matthews

Mayor Harry Baughn, Hayesville

Mayor Terry Mann, Whiteville

Mayor Jackie Sergent, Oxford

Mayor Patrick Taylor, Highlands

Mayor Mary Hughes O’Brien, Star

Mayor Walt Eccard, Shallotte

Mayor Fred Yates, Winfall

Mayor Winfred Hill Murphy, Garland

Mayor Darrell Hinnant, Kannapolis

Mayor Jerry Medlin, Benson

Mayor Lynda Sossamon, Sylva

Mayor Gloristine Brown, Bethel

Mayor Weyling White, Ahoskie

Mayor Robert Johnson, North Wilkesboro

Mayor Ed Hatley, Lincolnton

Mayor Gary McClure, Rutherford College

Mayor Ben Cahoon, Nags Head

Mayor Brenda Lyerly, Banner Elk

Mayor Bobby Kilgore, Monroe

Mayor Zeb Smathers, Canton

Mayor Steve Little, Marion

Mayor Bobby Wheeler, Creedmoor

Mayor Ronnie Michael, Albemarle

Mayor Jody L. McLeod, Clayton

Mayor Joyce Whichard-Brown, Williamston

Mayor Tina Brown, Robersonville

Mayor Bettie Parker, Elizabeth City

Mayor Don Kington, Duck

Mayor Casey Dover, Stem

Mayor Johnny Berry, Connelly Springs

Mayor Terry Turner, Butner

Mayor Brenda Bozeman, Leland

Mayor Ronnie Currin, Rolesville

Mayor Coley Hunt Rhodes, Stantonsburg

Mayor Newell Clark, Lexington

Mayor Bob Matheny, Zebulon

Mayor James Roberson, Knightdale

Mayor Ken Marshburn, Garner

Mayor Vivian Jones, Wake Forest

Mayor Virginia Gray, Wendell

Mayor Lenny Williams, Gibsonville

Mayor Ed Hooks, Mebane

Mayor David Smith, Asheboro

Mayor Jerry Peterman, Graham

Mayor Tracy Rodes, Webster

Mayor Barbara Mallett, East Spencer

Mayor G. Scott Neisler, Kings Mountain

Mayor Victor Varela, Ronda

Mayor Kelly Allen, Haw River

Mayor Dana Outlaw, New Bern

Mayor Chet Mann, Sanford

Mayor PJ Connelly, Greenville

Mayor Steve Sciascia, Harrisburg

Mayor Raleigh York, Thomasville

Mayor Bryan Hough, Mount Holly

One thought on “North Carolina Mayors’ statement on the murder of George Floyd

  1. All 100 are correct in criticizing the cruel treatment of “George” and to support “peaceful” protest but all 100 said nothing about the looting, damage, personal attacks, bottles and rocks thrown, fires started, cars burned and neighborhoods reduced to rubble. This is NOT peaceful protest! Most of these “protestors” were paid and eager to wreak havoc following weeks of unemployment caused by Covid 19’s “shelter in place” and business closings.
    Bus loads of out of town folks mingled with carloads of out of state cars to swell the rioting crowds supporting the agendas of others, not the anger of the viewed mistreatment by this officer who was guilty of many incidents of mistreatment he was not punished or fired for.
    If the Minneapolis police Chief and Mayor had done their jobs George would be alive.

    Now this convicted fellon with a long criminal record is being compared to MLK; now that’s an injustice. Pray for a peaceful resolution and a restoration of common sense.

Leave a Reply