Highlands School Academic Awards Banquet Class of 2019

Highlands School held the Academic Awards and Scholarship Banquet last month in honor of the Class of 2019’s academic achievements.

Scholarship Recipients

American Red Cross—Mattson Gates

Mattson Gates earned the Americana Red Cross, Community Foundation of Western North Carolina, and Town of Highlands Scholarships.

Art & Angela Williams Award–Jesus Damian Clemente & Grace Crowe

Salutorian Grace Crowe earned the Gilliam’s Promise, Art & Angela Williams Award, Highlands Cashiers Board of Realtors, and the Town of Highlands scholarships.

Bel Canto–Drew Chalker

Drew Chalker earned the Bel Canto, Highlands Women’s Club scholarships, and Town of Highlands scholarships.

Community Foundation of Western North Carolina–Mattson Gates, Hannah Holt, Rylee Rivers, Abigail Olvera

Gilliam’s Promise–Grace Crowe

Highlands Cashiers Board of Realtors–Grace Crowe, Abigail Olvera, Mattson Gates

Highlands Rotary Club–John Brooks, Jesus Damian Clemente, Hannah Holt, Abigail Olvera

Abby Olvera earned the Community Foundation of Western North Carolina, Highlands Cashiers Board of Realtors, and Town of Highlands scholarships.

Highlands Women’s Club–Drew Chalker, Katie McCall, Bert Zachary, Toby Barnes, Samuel Hawkins, Jake Billingsley

Interact Club–Jesus Damian Clemente and John Brooks

Valedictorian Jesus Damian Clemente earned the Interact Club, Highlands Rotary Club, Art & Angela Williams Award, and Town of Highlands scholarships.

Scaly Mountain Women’s Club–John Brooks, Jake Billingsley, Hannah Holt, Katie McCall, Rylee Rivers

Jake Billingsley earned the Scaly Mountain Women’s Club, Highlands Women’s Club, and Town of Highlands scholarships.

Voice of Democracy Essay Contest–John Brooks

John Brooks earned the Voice of Democracy Essay Contest

Town of Highlands Scholarship Recipients

Jesus Damian Clemente, Grace Crowe, Abigail Olvera, Mattson Gates, Tristan Castro, John Brooks, Samuel Hawkins, Toby Barnes, Hunter Collins, Hannah Holt, Carson Talbert, Caden Smolarsky, Katie McCall, Drew Chalker, Jake Billingsley, Jared Shearl, Destin Gearhart, Chase Sullivan, Bert Zachary, Rylee Rivers, and Freddi Garcia Lopez.

In honor of The Literacy Council’s involvement with the school and dedication to education, the staff of Highlands School voted to give them The Highlander Service to School Award. Pictured above from left are Tonya Dee, Bonnie Potts, and Natalie Davis.

Photos by Brian O’Shea
Follow us on Instagram: @plateaudailynews
Like us on Facebook HERE
Advertise click HERE

Leave a Reply