Annual Highlands Fire & Rescue awards ceremony celebrates a year of service

On Saturday night, the Highlands Fire & Rescue Dept. celebrated a year well done at its annual awards ceremony and banquet held at OEI’s Spring House.

40-year veteran of the Highlands Fire & Rescue Dept. Gary Ammons (center) was named Fireman of the Year at Saturday’s annual awards ceremony. He is pictured with Fire Chief Ryan Gearhart and Asst. Chief Robbie Forrester.


Firefighters, spouses, and retired firefighters gathered for the evening where 683 calls amounting to 1, 477 manhours were commended. 

“Thanks to the firefighters and their significant others for putting in the time and effort that it takes to do what we do,” said HFR Chief Ryan Gearhart.

Chief Ryan Gearhart and Asst. Chief Robbie Forrester with Roger Lee Wilson with the first inaugural ‘Roger L. Wilson Perfect Attendance Award.

In addition to fighting fires, attending wrecks, responding to fire alarms and rescuing hikers, the force logged 2,659 in training hours. 

Once again, Roger Lee Wilson got the award for perfect attendance, something he has gotten annually for decades, but this year marked the presentation of the inaugural Roger L. Wilson plaque. The plaque will be given each year – and it’s likely to be Roger Lee again!

Pictured at the top of the article are HFR retirees with Chief Gearhart and Asst. Chief Robbie Forrester from left – Stephen Pierson, Jimmy Lowe, Bob Zoellner, Wayne Crowe, Ricky Bryson, James Ramey, and Jody Zachary.

By Kim Lewicki, Highlands Newspaper

Leave a Reply